How to Calculate Property Taxes After the Homestead Exemption
Original post by D. Laverne O'Neal of Demand Media
Homestead exemption laws allow homeowners who meet certain criteria to reduce property taxes. Individual states establish their own homestead exemption legislation. Thus, the exemption amount and criteria vary. Some states offer a graduated exemption according to income and/or property value. In other states, school taxes are included in the exemption in whole or in part. Calculating property taxes after the exemption requires knowing the current value of your property and understanding how to apply the exemption. A tax or real estate finance professional is a valuable resource relative to your state's homestead exemption details.
Find the assessed value of your property. A current valuation is essential. You should be able to find this value at your city or county tax assessor's office.
Find out the exemption laws for your state. The amount of the exemption varies by state. For example, in Florida, it starts at $25,000 as of publication; an additional $25,000 applies to the assessed value between $50,000 and $75,000. Ohio's exemption can climb to $25,000, depending on income and property value. Texas homeowners may be eligible for as much as $25,000 in exemptions; age is among the eligibility factors.
Find out to whom to apply for the exemption. You may need to submit the application to a county or local office. Your state department of taxation is the primary source for this information.
Apply for the exemption to discover which exemption amount applies to your property. Application deadlines are published by the applicable county or local office.
Look for mail or email notification of your exemption amount from the applicable county or local office.
Deduct the exemption figure from the property value. For example, if your property is assessed at $125,000 and you are eligible for a $25,000 exemption, subtract $25,000 from $125,000 to arrive at $100,000.
Multiply the current property tax rate by the resulting figure. Continuing with the example, if the property tax rate is 6 percent, multiply $100,000 times 0.06 to get $6,000 in property taxes after the exemption.
Tips & Warnings
- Martin County, Forida Property Appraiser's Office: Homestead Exemption
- Window on State Government: Exemptions
- Ohio Department of Taxation: Property Tax Relief for Senior Citizens and the Disabled
About the Author
D. Laverne O'Neal, an Ivy League graduate, published her first article in 1997. A former theater, dance and music critic for such publications as the "Oakland Tribune" and Gannett Newspapers, she started her Web-writing career during the dot-com heyday. O'Neal also translates and edits French and Spanish. Her strongest interests are the performing arts, design, health, personal finance and personal growth.